Asian American Studies Program
University of Wisconsin-Madison
home about People courses news events resources donate

Asian American
Studies Program

Subscribe to Our
Mailing List

Email address:  

Your name (required):

Set Your Password (required):
Verify Your Password:


Timothy Yu
Director
tpyu@wisc.edu


Yer Lor
Program Administrator
aasp@mailplus.wisc.edu

 

Office Hours:

Monday 9:45-4:15pm
Tuesday 7:15-4:15pm
Wednesday 7:15-2:15pm
Thursday 7:15-4:15pm
Friday 7:15-4:15pm

Upcoming Office Closings

303 Ingraham Hall
1155 Observatory Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-263-2976

                      
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

 

 

Asian American Studies Program Advisory Committee and Director

Asian American Studies Program Advisory Committee - This is the main governance body for the Program and advises the Asian American Studies Executive Committee on all matters. This group has governance responsibilities, decides co-sponsorship and co-funding requests, establishes special committees, participates in hiring decisions, and other program development activities; they are eligible to request professional development funds from the program.


Director

Tim Yu

Timothy Yu (web)
Director, Asian American Studies
Associate Professor, English and Asian American Studies
306 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
7137 White Hall, Helen C, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53726
(608) 263-3818, tpyu@wisc.edu



 

Program Advisory Committee


Alberta Gloria (web)
Professor, Counseling Psychology, School of Education
335 Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-2669, agloria@education.wisc.edu

 

Andrew Salyer
Project Assistant, Asian American Studies
339 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
jsalyer@wisc.edu

 

Cindy I-Fen Cheng (web)
Associate Professor, History and Asian American Studies
5106 Humanities Bldg, 455 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-2522, cicheng@wisc.edu

 

Eden Inoway-Ronnie
Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost
157 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608)265-5975, etinoway@wisc.edu

 

Ella Mae Matsumura (web)
Professor, School of Business
4133D Grainger Hall, 975 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-9731, ematsumura@bus.wisc.edu

 

Ger Xiong
Associate Lecturer, Asian American Studies
339 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
gxiong22@wisc.edu

 

Hemant Shah (web)
Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
5002 Vilas Hall, 821 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2928, hgshah@facstaff.wisc.edu

 

Ian Baird (web)
Assistant Professor, Geography
455 Science Hall, 550 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-0012, ibaird@wisc.edu

 

Jan Miyasaki (bio)
Senior Lecturer, Asian American Studies
304 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2976, jkmiyasa@wisc.edu

 

Joan Fujimura (web)
Professor, Sociology, L&S
7101 Sewell Social Sciences, 1180 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-2724, fujimura@ssc.wisc.edu

 

Leslie Bow (web)
Professor, English and Asian American Studies
7187 Helen C White Hall, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 890-2455, lbow@wisc.edu

 

Lopez

Lillian Tong (web)
Faculty Associate, Center for Biology Education
Room 104B, 445 Henry Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-3003, tong@wisc.edu


Lori Kido Lopez
Assistant Professor, Communication Arts
6134 Vilas Communication Hall, 821 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-0069, lklopez@wisc.edu


Lynet

Lynet Uttal (web)
Professor, Human Development and Family Studies
Affiliate, Asian American Studies Program
Affiliate, Chican@ and Latin@ Studies Program
Affiliate, Department of Curriculum & Instruction

4107 Human Ecology Building, 1300 Linden Dr, Madison, WI 53706
305 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706

(608) 263-4026, luttal@wisc.edu

 

Marlys Macken (web)
Professor, Department of Linguistics
1168 Van Hise, Madison, WI 53706
(608)262-2292, macken@wisc.edu

 

Maya Holtzman
Assistant Director, McNair/SROP programs, Office of Diversity Resources
358 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Dr, Madison, WI 53726
(608) 263-5517, mholtzman@bascom.wisc.edu



Michael Thornton (web)
Professor, Afro-American Studies
4111 White Hall, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-1148, (608) 263-1642, mcthornt@facstaff.wisc.edu


Image

Mike Cullinane (web)
Associate Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
207a Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-1755, 263-9715, mmcullin@wisc.edu

 

Morris Young (web)
Professor, English
6187c White Hall, Helen C, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53726
(608) 263-3367, msyoung4@wisc.edu

 

Pamela Oliver (web)
Professor, Sociology
8143 Social Science Bldg, 1180 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-6829, (608) 262-2921, oliver@ssc.wisc.edu

 

Peggy Choy (web)
Assistant Professor, Dance and Asian American Studies
125 Lathrop Hall, 1050 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-6674, pachoy@wisc.edu


Rodney Horikawa
Community Building Coordinator, University Health Services
Room 8808-4, 333 East Campus Mall, Madison, WI 53715
(608)263-4536, ryhorikawa@wisc.edu

 

Stacey Lee (web)
Professor, Educational Policy Studies, School of Education
235 Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608)262-6846, (608) 265-5956, slee@education.wisc.edu


Timothy Yu (web)
Director, Asian American Studies
Associate Professor, English and Asian American Studies
306 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
7137 White Hall, Helen C, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53726
(608) 263-3818, tpyu@wisc.edu

 

Victor Jew
Lecturer, Asian American Studies
339 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2976
, vjew@wisc.edu

 

Yang Sao Xiong
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Asian American Studies
314 Social Work, 1350 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
302 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-6338,
ysxiong2@wisc.edu

Yer Lor
Program Administrator, Asian American Studies
303 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2976, aasp@mailplus.wisc.edu

 

Yer Vang
Associate Lecturer, Asian American Studies
339 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
yvang_esq@yahoo.com

 



home | about | certificate | people | courses | news | events | resources | donate

Last Updated 01/29/2014